Gallery: 10 EU Countries Pledge to Create North Sea Renewable Energy Gr...


The North Sea is already home to the world’s largest offshore wind farm, but its seems the sea is about to get even greener as ten EU countries have signed a memorandum to develop an international offshore energy grid. The memorandum saw Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, and the United Kingdom pledge to combine renewable wind energy sources in the sea. The grid, which would become fully operational in 2020, would allow the EU countries to share renewable electricity throughout the continent and the British Isles.

Read the rest of this entry »


or your inhabitat account below


  1. teófilo June 2, 2011 at 3:04 am

    las posibilidades de extraer energía del mar propuestas son parcas en relación con otros diseños mas ambiciosos que de ser puestos en practica podrían suplir las necesidades energéticas a nivel global.

  2. Kaishi March 19, 2011 at 7:30 pm

    they are part of the european economic area wich allows Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway to participate in the EU’s single market without a conventional EU membership. In exchange, they must adopt all EU legislation related to the single market, except those pieces of legislation that relate to agriculture.

  3. Torarne December 25, 2010 at 11:13 am

    I would like to point out that Norway is not a member of the EU – so this can hardly be a EU initiative.

get the free Inhabitat newsletter

Submit this form
popular today
all time
most commented
more popular stories >
more popular stories >
more popular stories >
Federated Media Publishing - Home