- Inhabitat – Sustainable Design Innovation, Eco Architecture, Green Building - http://inhabitat.com -

2013 Ford Fusion Named Green Car of the Year at the 2012 LA Auto Show

Posted By Marc Carter On November 30, 2012 @ 12:35 pm In automotive,Electric Cars,Green Transportation,News | No Comments

Ford, Ford Fusion, Green Car Journal, 2012 Los Angeles Auto Show, green car, green transportation, automotive, Ford hybrid, ford plug-in hybrid

The all-new 2013 Ford Fusion [1] has been named Green Car Journal [2]‘s 2013 Green Car of the Year [3] at the 2012 LA Auto Show. The Ford Fusion emerged on top of a field of finalist, which included the 2013 Dodge Dart Aero, Ford C-MAX, Mazda CX-5 and the Toyota Prius c. Green Car Journal [4] gave the Fusion the award because “it not only significantly reduces petroleum use, CO2 emissions and overall environmental impact, but is priced to encourage the kind of sales volume that can truly influence environmental improvement.”

Ford, Ford Fusion, Green Car Journal, 2012 Los Angeles Auto Show, green car, green transportation, automotive, Ford hybrid, ford plug-in hybrid

“The 2013 Ford Fusion approaches the market with a ‘game-on’ attitude,” said Ron Cogan, editor and publisher of the Green Car Journal [4] and CarsOfChange.com [5], and president of the nonprofit Green Car Institute. “There’s no overstating the importance of what Ford has done. Many have long envisioned new car showrooms where a desired model could be purchased with one of many distinctly different and efficient powertrains, selected to satisfy a buyer’s particular needs and desires.”

The 2013 Ford Fusion is offered with a choice of three four-cylinder engines, and two hybrid powertrains. The Fusion Hybrid [6] is rated at 47 mpg, while the Fusion Energi plug-in hybrid is expected to get a 100 MPGe EPA rating.

“We are very honored that the all-new Ford Fusion [6] has been recognized as the Green Car of the Year by the Green Car Journal,” said David Mondragon, Ford [7] general marketing manager. “From EcoBoost to hybrid and plug-in hybrid offerings, the new Fusion is delivering best-in-class fuel economy all wrapped in a dynamic package.”

The Honda Civic Natural Gas [8] received the award last year and in 2011, the Chevy Volt [9] was named Green Car of the Year.

+ Ford [7]


Article printed from Inhabitat – Sustainable Design Innovation, Eco Architecture, Green Building: http://inhabitat.com

URL to article: http://inhabitat.com/2013-ford-fusion-named-green-car-of-the-year-at-the-2012-la-auto-show/

URLs in this post:

[1] 2013 Ford Fusion: http://inhabitat.com/test-drive-2013-ford-fusion-hybrid-is-a-stylish-new-hybrid/

[2] Green Car Journal: http://www.greencar.com/

[3] Green Car of the Year: http://inhabitat.com/tag/green-car-of-the-year/

[4] Green Car Journal: http://greencarjournal.com/

[5] CarsOfChange.com: http://www.carsofchange.com

[6] Fusion Hybrid: http://inhabitat.com/2013-ford-fusion-hybrid-rated-as-america%E2%80%99s-most-fuel-efficient-midsize-sedan/

[7] Ford: http://www.ford.com

[8] Honda Civic Natural Gas: http://inhabitat.com/honda-civic-natural-gas-named-2012-green-car-of-the-year-at-the-la-auto-show/

[9] Chevy Volt: http://inhabitat.com/2013-chevy-volt-gets-a-new-ev-hold-mode-and-styling-updates/

Copyright © 2011 Inhabitat Local - New York. All rights reserved.