The 19th century Fortress Diemerdam was part of the Stelling of Amsterdam, a line of structures originally built to defend the city. Constructed between 1880 and 1914, the line of defense was made up of 46 forts, batteries, and dykes built around 15 kilometers from the center of Amsterdam.
In addition to the fortress renovation, Emma Architecten also restored the original wooden cottage located on the grounds, which now houses a restaurant. A wooden wall protects this section of the fortress, which contains the pavilion and cafe. Through gaps in the wall visitors can look out over gun bays and Island Pampus, the next fortress in the defense line. The renovation and restoration by the Dutch architecture studio was part of a larger project, and it was recently included on the UNESCO world heritage list.
Images used with permission by Emma Architecten, John van Helvert (JvH), and John Lewis Marshall (JLM)