- Inhabitat – Sustainable Design Innovation, Eco Architecture, Green Building - http://inhabitat.com -

Iconic Verbier Ski Gondolas Repurposed into Stunning Shelters to be Auctioned for Charity

Posted By Tafline Laylin On June 26, 2013 @ 5:25 pm In Architecture,carousel showcase,gallery,Recycled Materials | No Comments


Switzerland, social design, Verbier Alpine Ski resort, repurposed design, adaptive reuse, green design, sustainable design, eco design, gondolas turned into works of art, Miami Basel Art Fair, Make a Wish Foundation [5]

Designers included in this inspiring project include Adrien Rovero [6], who designed a mint green four-seater rocking chair, Atelier Oï [7], whose white gondola is topped by what looks like a giant jelly fish, and Jörg Boner [8] & Lela Scherrer [9], who repurposed gondola doors into a groovy indoor screen. Philippe Cramer [10] hung the plexiglass windows, which can’t be otherwise recycled, as if in a museum exhibit, Nicolas Le Moigne [11] turned his gondola into a shapeshifting transformer object, while Baker Wardlaw [12] made an otherworldly gum ball machine!

Photographer Anoush Abrar [13] captured the project’s essence in photographs that will blow your mind. After a summer exhibition at Verbier, the gondolas’ original home, and a few more, Christies [14] will eventually auction off each piece and the proceeds will benefit Switzerland’s Make a Wish Foundation [15].

Via MocoLoco [16]

Images via Annik Wetter, Frank Saada, Mountain Climbers


Article printed from Inhabitat – Sustainable Design Innovation, Eco Architecture, Green Building: http://inhabitat.com

URL to article: http://inhabitat.com/iconic-verbier-gondolas-repurposed-into-stunning-designs-to-be-auctioned-for-charity/

URLs in this post:

[1]

: http://inhabitat.com/iconic-verbier-gondolas-repurposed-into-stunning-designs-to-be-auctioned-for-charity/repurposed-gondola-by-rebecca-bowring/?extend=1

[2]  : http://inhabitat.com/iconic-verbier-gondolas-repurposed-into-stunning-designs-to-be-auctioned-for-charity/repurposed-gondola-3/?extend=1

[3] Verbier Alpine ski resort: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Verbier

[4] Art Basel Fair: https://www.artbasel.com

[5] Image: http://inhabitat.com/iconic-verbier-gondolas-repurposed-into-stunning-designs-to-be-auctioned-for-charity/repurposed-gondola-3/

[6] Adrien Rovero: http://www.adrienrovero.com

[7] Atelier Oï: http://www.atelier-oi.ch

[8] Jörg Boner: http://www.joergboner.ch

[9] Lela Scherrer: http://lelascherrer.com

[10] Philippe Cramer: http://www.philippecramer.com/home

[11] Nicolas Le Moigne: http://www.nicolaslemoigne.ch/en/

[12] Baker Wardlaw: http://www.bakerwardlaw.com

[13] Anoush Abrar: http://www.anoushabrar.com

[14] Christies: http://www.christies.com

[15] Make a Wish Foundation: http://www.makeawish.ch

[16] MocoLoco: http://mocoloco.com/fresh2/2013/06/21/verbier-mountain-climbers-gondolas.php

Copyright © 2011 Inhabitat Local - New York. All rights reserved.