- Inhabitat – Sustainable Design Innovation, Eco Architecture, Green Building - http://inhabitat.com -

RECLAIMING DESIGN PANEL: Today!

Posted By Emily Pilloton On May 20, 2007 @ 10:00 am In Green Design Events,New York City,NYDesignWeek2007,Recycled Materials | 1 Comment

Reclaiming Design, Recalimed Design, Design Reclaimed, Recycled Design, Green Design, Haute Green Inhabitat Presents, Tejo Remy, Sam Grawe, Carlos Salgado, Bart Bettencourt [1]

If you’re in New York City this weekend for the ICFF, we’d like to remind you about our Reclaiming Design [2] event at HauteGreen [3] this afternoon. You can’t miss the HauteGREEN show [3], so why not combine a visit to the exhibition with a visit to our event, which features Dutch design icon Tejo Remy [4], Dwell Editor Sam Grawe [5], and Brooklyn designers Carlos Salgado of Scrapile [6] and Matt Gagnon [7] to speak about recycling in design. Reclaiming Design is this afternoon at 5pm, so come by and check it out!

Moderated by us (Jill Fehrenbacher [8] and Emily Pilloton [9]), the panel will discuss the use of recycled and reclaimed materials in the design process and the implications for both concept and environmentalism. Seating is limited and we need a head count, so if you are interested in attending, PLEASE RSVP TO ReclaimingDesign (at) gmail (dot) com [10].


WHEN: Sunday MAY 20th 5pm

WHERE: HAUTEGREEN exhibition at gallery in NYC’s Union Square: 33 West 19th St, between 5th & 6th ave

WHAT: Reclaiming Design will be a four person panel discussion on the subject of recycling & reclamation in design. Each speaker will give a short presentation of their work, followed by moderated audience Q&A.

WHO:
Sam Grawe, Editor-in-Chief of Dwell Magazine
Tejo Remy, Furniture Designer, Droog
Carlos Salgado, Furniture Designer, Scrapile
Matt Gagnon, Architect & Furniture Designer

*Just to give you all a heads up – there is a requested donation for the HauteGREEN show [3] of $10. Donation is optional, but please remember that this is a non-profit organization, and we are all volunteering a lot of our time (and carrying a lot of the expenses for the show on our personal credit cards), so donation would be very much appreciated. And it gets you a year long subscription to Good Magazine, [11] so its win-win for all.


Article printed from Inhabitat – Sustainable Design Innovation, Eco Architecture, Green Building: http://inhabitat.com

URL to article: http://inhabitat.com/reclaiming-design-panel-this-sunday/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://www.inhabitat.com/2007/05/20/reclaiming-design-panel-this-sunday/

[2] Reclaiming Design: http://www.inhabitat.com/2007/05/03/reclaiming-design-at-hautegreen/

[3] HauteGreen: http://www.hautegreen.com/

[4] Tejo Remy: http://www.inhabitat.com/2007/05/10/tejo-remy-iconic-dutch-designer/

[5] Sam Grawe: http://www.dwell.com/info/about/616842.html

[6] Scrapile: http://www.inhabitat.com/2007/05/14/copycat-or-coincidence-4korners-versus-scrapile/

[7] Matt Gagnon: http://www.inhabitat.com/2005/08/30/matt-gagnon-renovated-loft/

[8] Jill Fehrenbacher: http://www.inhabitat.com/2005/03/29/jill-fehrenbacher/

[9] Emily Pilloton: http://www.inhabitat.com/2005/03/25/emily-pilloton/

[10] ReclaimingDesign (at) gmail (dot) com: mailto:reclaimingdesign@gmail.com

[11] Good Magazine,: http://www.goodmagazine.com/

Copyright © 2011 Inhabitat Local - New York. All rights reserved.