- Inhabitat – Sustainable Design Innovation, Eco Architecture, Green Building - http://inhabitat.com -

The Green Sight + Sound Eco Art Benefit is Tonight in SF!

Posted By Moe Beitiks On December 4, 2009 @ 3:54 pm In Art,San Francisco | No Comments

green sight and sound, eco art, san francisco, mina dresden, art, green art [1]

CALLING ALL SAN FRANCISCANS [2]!

If you’re looking for a way to recover from the rampant consumerism of Black Friday and Cyber Monday, you might want to head out to the Mina Dresden Gallery [3] tonight for a chance to party, collect amazing eco-art [4], and support two non-profts at the green sight + sound [1] benefit! Awesome eco-artists like Nils Udo [5]Ned Kahn [6]Josh Keyes [7], and Inhabitat’s own Abigail Doan [8] will be putting their work up for auction with proceeds going to the 4th season of ME’D1.ATE’s Soundwave Festival entitled GREEN SOUND as well as other programs at ecoartspace [9].

Artwork by Abigail Doan, green sight and sound, eco art, san francisco, mina dresden, art, green art

A few highlights: a photo bundle of the blue Spiral Jetty [10] by Craig Roper, an image of the hilariously huge  Ice Queen Dress Tent [11] by Robin Lasser [12] and Adrienne Pao [13], and the deliciously intricate Floglia 02, reminiscent of ancient leaf paintings, by Doan. Also on display are several works by Nils-Udo, who has been working epically (that is, in an epic manner) with nature [14] since 1972,  and a painting by Josh Keyes.  Keyes’ works quickly sold out at an exhibition at Swarm Gallery in Oakland [15] earlier this fall. Yet better reason to get to Mina Dresden and invest in some cultural heft.

green-sight-sound-bundles, green sight and sound, eco art, san francisco, mina dresden, art, green art [16]

The other beneficiary of the event, ME’DI.ATE [17], is a non-profit, volunteer run arts organization that produces Project Soundwave [18], among other great projects. Ecoartspace itself is responsible for some of the most relevant, powerful, in-depth displays and explorations of eco art [19] in the last decade. Sounds like a reason to party.

+ green sight + sound [1]


Article printed from Inhabitat – Sustainable Design Innovation, Eco Architecture, Green Building: http://inhabitat.com

URL to article: http://inhabitat.com/the-green-sight-sound-eco-art-benefit-is-tonight-in-sf/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://ecoartspacebenefit2009.blogspot.com/

[2] SAN FRANCISCANS: http://www.inhabitat.com/sf

[3] Mina Dresden Gallery: http://www.minadresden.com/

[4] eco-art: http://www.inhabitat.com/art

[5] Nils Udo: http://greenmuseum.org/content/artist_index/artist_id-36.html

[6] Ned Kahn: http://nedkahn.com/

[7] Josh Keyes: http://www.joshkeyes.net/

[8] Abigail Doan: http://www.inhabitat.com/author/abigail/

[9] ecoartspace: http://www.ecoartspace.org/

[10] a photo bundle of the blue Spiral Jetty: http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_7o20MMoT4zk/SxQye00ePFI/AAAAAAAAA8U/J3SrQp7TXRM/s400/10.small.bundles.jpg

[11] Dress Tent: http://www.adriennepao.com/statements/dresstentstatement.html

[12] Robin Lasser: http://www.robinlasser.com/artwork/index.html

[13] Adrienne Pao: http://www.adriennepao.com/

[14] been working epically (that is, in an epic manner) with nature: http://greenmuseum.org/content/artist_content/ct_id-64__artist_id-36.html

[15] Swarm Gallery in Oakland: http://www.inhabitat.com/2009/09/12/swarm-gallery-vaughn-bell-and-josh-keyes/

[16] Image: http://www.inhabitat.com/2009/12/04/the-green-sight-sound-eco-art-benefit-is-tonight-in-sf/green-sight-sound-bundles/

[17] ME’DI.ATE: http://www.me-di-ate.net/about/

[18] Project Soundwave: http://www.projectsoundwave.com/

[19] relevant, powerful, in-depth displays and explorations of eco art: http://www.ecoartspace.org/projects.html

Copyright © 2011 Inhabitat Local - New York. All rights reserved.