The Yew Dell Gardens were originally built by horticulturalist and nurseryman Theodore Klein back in 1943, and includes a variety of unique gardens and hundreds of plants. After Klein’s death in 1998, the garden was threatened by new developments, and in an effort to save the beautiful project, the botanical gardens became part of the Garden Conservancy, which is a national organization dedicated to saving and preserving America’s exceptional gardens.
In 2010, the gardens received private funding to add a visitor and welcome center to the botanical gardens. De Leon & Primmer Architecture Workshop was brought on to facilitate the rehabilitation of the historic tobacco barn. A building within a building was created to serve as the visitor center, while the historic barn was stabilized and now serves as a shade structure protecting the space within. The new visitor center includes a reception area with information and tickets sales, gift shop, plant sale area, group tour meeting zone, internet sales office and storage.