1 result
filter by... deadline:

2014 ARCHITECT Magazine R+D Awards – Call for EntriesApril 18th, 2014

architect magazine, call for entries, r+d awards, 2014 r+d awards, architect magazine r+d awards, architect magazine july 2014 issue,

To celebrate the building technologies that are revolutionizing the process and product of architecture, ARCHITECT magazine announces its eighth annual R+D Awards program. The awards honor innovative design and systems at every scale—from entire buildings to building systems, products and materials, and digital tools such as software, apps, and fabrication methods.

The awards are open equally to architects and designers of all disciplines, engineers, manufacturers, researchers, and students. Commercial products must be available in the United States. Non-commercial strategies must have been developed by individuals and groups based in the U.S., Canada, or Mexico. Entries must have been completed after Jan. 1, 2011.

April 18th, 2014

April 18th, 2014



Publication in ARCHITECT's July issue.


The awards will be judged in three categories, reflecting different stages in the research and development process. 1. Prototype: Products, materials, systems, and software that are in the prototyping and testing phase. 2. Production: Products, materials, systems, and software that are currently available for use. Application: 3. Products, materials, systems, and software as used in a single architectural project or group of related architectural projects. Regardless of whether you have entered the R+D Awards in the past, the first entry will cost $175. Each additional entry thereafter will cost $95 each. You may enter as many submissions as desired. These amounts apply only if the entries are postmarked by Apr. 18, 2014. For more information, email [email protected] or visit


The jury will consider newly introduced technologies as well as unconventional uses of existing technologies. Entries will be judged for their documented or prospective innovation in fabrication, assembly, installation, user engagement, and performance. All entries will be judged according to their potential to advance the aesthetic, environmental, social, and technological value of architecture.