1 result
filter by... deadline:

ARCASIA Travel Prize 2016 offers travel research scholarship for humanitarian architectureApril 8th, 2016

ACA17, ARCASIA Travel Prize in Architecture, ARCASIA Travel Prize 2016, architecture travel scholarship,

The ARCASIA Travel Prize in Architecture is inviting young architects to compete for their chance to win a $4,500 travel and research scholarship to Thailand. Open to Young Architects of ARCASIA (40 years and under) who are members in the institute of their country, the contest seeks to promote research in selected fields of study related to humanitarian architecture and also to encourage cross border education. Three $4,500 cash prizes will be awarded to winners who must them for travel and research in Thailand as well as a trip to Hong Kong to present their research findings during the 17th Asian Congress of Architects (ACA17) in September 2016. The deadline for submissions is April 8, 2016.

April 8th, 2016

April 8th, 2016



4500 USD


Each proposal submission shall comprise the following:

- Description of research goals & objectives

- What will be achieved during the research trip to Thailand

- Detailed travel itinerary in Thailand

- Research precedents (if applicable) and project background

Submission Format:

Two A3 graphic sheets, in format of High Quality Jpeg (Landscape Format 420×594 mm)

Resolution: 150dpi (3,508×2,480 pixels)

Text file containing the project statement (1000 words max)

Text file containing the Young Architect’s personal information, including name, age, contact address, email, and architectural institute affiliation

All materials must be submitted electronically to: [email protected]

The total file size must not exceed 15 MB


Patama Roonrakwit [CASE]: Patama Roonrakwit is founder of CASE – Community Architects for Shelter and Environment. The award-winning studio works with a humanitarian and anthropological approach in creating appropriate housing for people.

Chutayaves Sinthuphan [Site-Specific]: Chutayaves Sinthuphan is founder of Site-Specific, a research-based design and architecture studio. His projects have been extensively published and acknowledged for their sustainable and innovative approaches.

Vipavee Kunavichayanont [Design for Disasters]: Vipavee Kunavichayanont is co-founder for Design for Disasters (D4D), a nonprofit research and design initiative network focused on finding creative long-term solutions to prepare for and recover from natural disasters.

Sathirut Nui Tandanand: Sathirut Nui Tandanand is the current President of ARCASIA and managing director of Dhevanand, a multidisciplinary architectural practice based in Bangkok, Thailand.

Luke Yeung: Luke Yeung is the current Honorary Secretary of ARCASIA and principal of Architectkidd, an award-winning architectural studio.

Bea Vithayathawornwong: Bea Vithayathawornwong is the current Honorary Treasurer of ARCASIA and design director of Beautbureau, a Bangkok-based design and research studio.