1 result
filter by... deadline:

Create a temporary physical structure for migrants in Malmö for a chance at $10,000November 7th, 2016

Opportunity Space, Opportunity Space Competition, Opportunity Space Flash Competition, Opportunity Space by Van Alen Institute, Van Alen institute, migrant architecture, mobile architecture

How can design help support economic opportunity and social inclusion for migrants in Malmö, Sweden? That’s the question put forward by Opportunity Space, an international design-build competition that challenges multidisciplinary teams from around the world to propose a temporary mobile structure for a shot at a $10,000 prize, a travel stipend, and up to $25,000 to implement a prototype of their proposal. The first in a new Van Alen Institute series called Flash Competitions, Opportunity Space operates on a short timeline and seeks projects that are eye-catching with social benefit. Proposals should make education, social inclusion, and job assistance resources more visible and accessible to job seekers and the general public, while imagining new ways for people to use or develop their skills to better their lives. The pre-registration deadline is November 7 and the submission deadline is November 18.

November 7th, 2016

November 18th, 2016





The deadline to pre-register is Monday, November 7, 2016. Final proposals must be uploaded using the submission link by 11:59 EST on Tuesday, November 18, 2016. Entrants will receive a confirmation that the files have been uploaded and should retain this confirmation.


Agneta Salhead Canneroth, Head of Planning Unit, City of Malmö Departmenr of Streets and Parks, Aså Kalée, Good Malmö, Gunilla Kronvall, Chair, Architects Sweden Skåne; Atelier 01 arkitektur, Christer Larsson, Director, City of Malmö Planning Office, Helene Rahm, Head of Skåne Department, Individuell Människohjälp, Sara McDonald, Head of New Production, MKB, Monica von Schmalensee, CEO, White Arkitekter, Ingebørg Skaare, Senior Architect, Snøhetta, Marta Stenevi, City of Malmö Deputy Mayor; Chair, City Planning Committee, David van der Leer, Executive Director, Van Alen Institute; Jury Chair