1 result
filter by... deadline:

eVolo 2011 Skyscraper CompetitionJanuary 11th, 2011

eVolo Magazine is pleased to invite students, architects, engineers, and designers from around the globe to take part in the 2011 Skyscraper Competition. The annual eVolo Skyscraper Competition is a forum for the discussion, development, and promotion of innovative concepts for vertical density. It examines the relationship between the skyscraper and the natural world, the skyscraper and the community, and the skyscraper and the city.

The exponential increase of the world’s population and its unprecedented shift from rural to urban areas has prompted hundreds of new developments without adequate urban planning and poor architectural design. The aim of this competition is to redefine what we understand as a skyscraper and initiate a new architectural discourse of economic, environmental, intellectual, and perceptual responsibility that could ultimately modify our cities and improve our way of life.

The use of new materials, technologies, aesthetics, and novel spatial organizations, along with studies on globalization, flexibility, adaptability, and the digital revolution are some of the multi-layered elements that the participants should take into consideration. This is also an investigation on the public and private space and the role of the individual and the collective in the creation of a dynamic and adaptive vertical community.

There are no restrictions in regards to site, program or size. The objective is to provide maximum freedom to the participants to engage the project without constraints in the most creative way. What is a skyscraper in the 21st century? What are the historical, contextual, social, urban, and environmental responsibilities of these mega-structures?

January 11th, 2011

January 18th, 2011



1st place – US $5000 2nd place – US $2000 3rd place – US $1000 Winners and special mentions will be published in several print magazines including eVolo_04.


Students, architects, engineers, and designers are invited to participate in the competition.

This is a digital competition and no hardcopies are necessary. Entrants must submit their proposal via email no later than January 18, 2011 (23:00 hours US Eastern Time) to the following email address: [email protected]

The project submission must contain the following files:
1. Two boards with the project information including plans, sections, and perspectives. Participants are encouraged to submit all the information they consider necessary to explain their proposal. These boards should be 24″ X 48″ in HORIZONTAL format. The resolution of the boards must be 150 dpi, RGB mode and saved as JPG files. The upper right corner of each board must contain the participation number. There should not be any marks or any other form of identification. The files must be named after the registration number followed by the board number. For example: 0101-1.jpg and 0101-2.jpg.
2. A DOC file containing the project statement (600 words max). This file must be named after the registration number followed by the word “statement”. For example: 0101-statement.doc.
3. A DOC file containing the entrants’ personal information, including name, profession, address, and email. This file must be named after the registration number followed by the word “info”. For example: 0101-info.doc.
4. All the files must be placed in a ZIP folder named after your registration number. For example:


- Benjamin Aranda [principal ArandaLasch]
- Juan Azulay [principal Matter Management, professor at Southern California Institute of Architecture]
- Mario Cipresso [principal Studio Shift, professor at University of Southern California]
- Ted Givens [associate director RMJM]
- Eric Goldemberg [principal Monad Studio, professor at University of Miami]
- Jose Gonzalez [principal Softlab, professor at Pratt Institute]
- John Hill [editor Archidose]
- Mitchell Joachim [principal Terreform One, professor at New York University]
- Andrew Liang [principal Studio 0.10., professor at University of Southern California]
- Chris Lasch [principal ArandaLasch]
- Neri Oxman [principal Materialecology, Presidential Fellow at MIT Media Lab]
- Javier Quintana [principal Taller Basico de Arquitectura, Dean of IE School of Architecture]
- Rezza Rahdian [Architect, Second Place 2009 Skyscraper Competition]
- Michel Rojkind [principal Rojkind Arquitectos]
- Michael Szivos [principal Softlab, professor at Pratt Institute]