1 result
filter by... deadline:

US$2 million LafargeHolcim Awards for sustainable construction projects is now open to submissionsMarch 21st, 2017

LafargeHolcim, sustainable construction, LafargeHolcim Awards, LafargeHolcim Foundation for Sustainable Construction, sustainable construction competition

One of the world’s most significant sustainable design competitions has just begun accepting entries. Organized by the LafargeHolcim Foundation for Sustainable Construction, the LafargeHolcim Awards seeks ideas with the highest potential to tackle today’s challenges to increasing urbanization and to improve quality of life. Design professionals are invited to enter the main LafargeHolcim Awards category, while young professionals and students are invited to enter the Next Generation category. The competition is open to many different types of submissions, including but not limited to architecture projects, design materials, and construction technologies. If the project has been executed, it may not have started before July 4, 2016 and should contribute to the five “target issues” for sustainable construction identified by the contest organizers. The registration deadline is March 21, 2017 and the deadline for submissions is March 28, 2017.

March 21st, 2017

March 28th, 2017



USD 2 million


The main category is open to projects at an advanced stage of design, with a high probability of execution, and with a construction start later than July 4, 2016. The Next Generation category is open for students and young professionals up to the age of 30 years. Visionary concepts and bold ideas irrespective of the probability of implementation can be submitted.


The competition is divided in five geographic regions – each with its own jury of renowned specialists. The juries are headed by Harry Gugger (for region Europe), Ray Cole (North America), Angelo Bucci (Latin America), Nagwa Sherif (Middle East Africa) and Donald Bates (Asia Pacific).