Gallery: 2010 Pritzker Prize Awarded to SANAA

The 2010 Pritzker Prize was just announced today, and the winners of this year's esteemed prize are Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa, a Tokyo-based architecture duo called SANAA. Announced earlier today, this is the first female-male duo to win the esteemed award and we can certainly see why they took home this year's prize. Most notably known for their work on the New Museum of Contemporary Art in New York City, the Glass Pavilion of the Toledo Museum of Art, and the recent Rolex Learning Center in Lausanne, Switzerland, SANAA's buildings are subtle and understated, as well as light and transparent. While SANAA may not be as flashy or iconic as of their peers (ahemm Gehry), their works have a quiet beauty and inherent sustainability to them and are certainly worthy of the "Nobel Peace Prize" of Architecture.

Read the rest of this entry »


or your inhabitat account below

1 Comment

  1. Nanny April 8, 2010 at 5:09 am

    congrats to the duo. If I may I would suggest this awesome read :

get the free Inhabitat newsletter

Submit this form
popular today
all time
most commented
more popular stories >
more popular stories >
more popular stories >
Federated Media Publishing - Home