Gallery: Scientists Grow Gelatin Derived from Human Tissue


Vegans and vegetarians have been in their kitchen laboratories for years attempting (and sometimes succeeding) to find a suitable substitute for gelatin. Now it seems that a group of scientists just might have done the trick – kind of. Conventional gelatin is made from collagen inside animals’ skin and bones — yes, we know we are ruining your childhood memories — and a group of researchers have managed to replace that animal base with a human one. Their research appears in the American Chemical Society’s Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry.

Read the rest of this entry »


or your inhabitat account below


  1. bulljeanne September 2, 2011 at 9:14 am

    They make vaccines grown on aborted baby tissue, Pepsi, Kraft and others use HEK-293 flavor enhancer (human embryo kidney-293 stands for the 293rd baby that finally worked)So what are the chances that this will find it’s way into the food industry? Very good indeed!

  2. Gene Thomas July 25, 2011 at 1:41 am

    Puts a whole new spin on the term “Eat me !!”

  3. Mary Tossell July 19, 2011 at 10:47 pm

    Agar agar way to go .Been using it for 60yrs

  4. caeman July 17, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    Soylent Green.

  5. boggin828 July 16, 2011 at 3:09 pm

    I would honestly feel better about eating this over animal based gelatin… but not sure I’m up for either!

  6. caeman July 15, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    Still not kosher. Go back to the drawing board, please. No pig, no human gelatin. That agar-agar sounds like it would be acceptable.

  7. JasminMC July 15, 2011 at 11:35 am

    In Southeast Asia, we use agar-agar, which is plant derived. And pretty yum!

get the free Inhabitat newsletter

Submit this form
popular today
all time
most commented
more popular stories >
more popular stories >
more popular stories >
Federated Media Publishing - Home