Gallery: The Emirates Glass LEAF Awards Announce Their 2012 Shortlist

Sou Fujimoto Architects, with House like a single Tree, Tokyo, Japan
The Emirates Glass LEAF Awards were conceived nine years ago to honor architects and their buildings which have set a new benchmark for the international architectural community. A total of 46 entries made the shortlist in each of the 10 categories that include Refurbishment of the Year, Public Building of the Year, Best Sustainable Development, and Best Future Building. This year’s jury consisted of six upstanding individuals within the architectural community: Irving Brauer (chairman, principal of Brauer Associates); Phil Holden (managing director of Pascall+Watson); Lucy Bullivant (architectural curator, critic, author); Paolo Brescia (partner of Open Building Research), and Kasia Fiutowska (founding partner of Sketch Design). While the competition finalists won't be announced until the 21st of September in London, you can see the entire 2012 award shortlist after the jump.

Read the rest of this entry »


or your inhabitat account below

get the free Inhabitat newsletter

Submit this form
popular today
all time
most commented
more popular stories >
more popular stories >
more popular stories >
Federated Media Publishing - Home