Continue reading below
Our Featured Videos

parsons, parsons nyc, parsons new school for design, poltrona frau, icff, international contemporary furniture fair, zero waste design initiative, Federico Materazzi, Massimo Vignelli, Paul Makovsky, Mark Bechtel, Ruggiero gobo, Sara Gobbo, nyc design competition

The first place winning design was awarded to Jenny Hsu for her design “Piqnique”—a woven utensils case for enjoying meals on the go that transforms into a chic leather placemat. Yuna Kim and Benjamin Billick were awarded second and third place awards, respectively, for their “Miovino” leather wine glass tags and “Tuft” candle holders. The three winners will visit the Poltrona Frau factory in Italy, this summer, where they will work with the master craftsmen to fabricate prototypes of their designs.

The panel of judges comprised of Federico Materazzi, executive vice president, Americas, Poltrona Frau; as well as legendary designer Massimo Vignelli, Metropolis editorial director Paul Makovsky, Parsons Interim Product Design Director Mark Bechtel, Ruggiero and Sara Gobbo, Senior Marketing Manager for the Poltrona Frau Group.

Noemi Szalavari, who crafted “Spirale”—a vase that the judges felt possessed tremendous poetry and potential, but needed further development—was named as an honorable mention (the first in the history of the competition). All of the designs will be on view at the Poltrona Frau showroom through June.

+ Poltrona Frau

+ Parsons The New School for Design