Continue reading below
Our Featured Videos
Saugerties Lighthouse, Upstate New York, hudson River, Weekend retreat, repurposed lighthouse, adaptive reuse, solar powered lighthouse

Built at the base of the Esopus Creek, the original lighthouse was built in 1835 on a pier and lit with whale oil lamps and parabolic reflectors. Soon, the original rectangular lighthouse was replaced by the present lighthouse, which is hugged by the quaint brick home that now operates as the Bed & Breakfast. After falling into disrepair in the 1950s, the Saugerties Lighthouse Conservancy was finally formed in 1985, which restored the building to its original splendor. With help from the Coast Guard, the lighthouse was put back into commission with a solar-powered beacon in August of 1990.

Inside, visitors can relax amongst quaint furnishings from the early 1900s. The on-sight museum, which houses historical artifacts from the steamboat era, is accessible during public hours, but also to overnight guests during their stay. A hearty breakfast is provided by the lighthouse’s keepers, who can also recommend hiking trails and other nature adventures like swimming and fishing on the grounds surrounding the house.

The remote location is accessible by personal boat, otherwise visitors must walk on a half-mile trail from the parking area to the Lighthouse, making a stay at the Bed & Breakfast an exceptionally serene retreat. The Saugerties Lighthouse is open year round, and also available for daily visits for those not spending the night.

+ Saugerties Lighthouse

Images via Saugerties Lighthouse