Gallery: 2010 Winners of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture

We've been waiting three years for the next round of Aga Khan winners, and we're happy to report that the top five projects of 2010 were just announced last week. The Aga Khan Award for Architecture is a prestigious award given every three years to acknowledge and encourage excellence in architecture and other forms of intervention in the built environment, particularly where Muslims have a significant presence. This year, out of 409 projects submitted, the Master Jury whittled down the list to only 19 and then to the final five - all of which exemplify architecture that improves the lives of people in their communities. The winners include a school that bridges two sides of a town, a museum, a wetlands restoration project, a textile factory and a historic renovation project. Read on to find out more about each winner.


or your inhabitat account below

get the free Inhabitat newsletter

Submit this form
popular today
all time
most commented
more popular stories >
more popular stories >
more popular stories >
Federated Media Publishing - Home